A new painting on my easel…

Spent the past several days working on a new painting in a little corner in a hotel room in Vancouver.

‘Amanda’s tea party’. I’m really enjoying this painting and plan on completing it by friday.   I decided to paint Amanda first in color and continue with the underpainting with raw umber  before I finish the rest in color. I do prefer an underpainting. It makes my life as a painter, so much easier. My drawing is resolved and all I have to worry about is the color and light.

The sparkle in Amanda’s eyes adds playfulness to this image and the cakes and sweets on the table with gorgeous teacups and cute stuffed animals around the table is such a delight to paint. I can’t help but smile while painting this very cute scene :- )

Leave a Reply

