Every time I paint, I learn something new…

Making some excellent progress with Ta’Kaiya’s painting. So delighted with how it’s turning out. The progress is slow but sure, I don’t really know what i’m doing :- / I’ve never painted a close up of foamy waves lapping the shore. But i’m definitely hooked and want to paint an ocean scene only in burnt umber using the wipe-out technique. Such a beautiful colour. The experts say to take it off our palettes because of it’s ‘sinking in’ phenomena. However, I do believe there are ways around that. Use it on it’s own and ‘oil out’ with a mix of damar, stand oil and turpentine at the end.  Damar is a resin, similar to a clear coat, but varnishing a final coat can be done a year later if one feels it’s necessary.

Now to get back to my painting, I can’t wait to work on it some more… so exciting to learn how to paint ocean water rushing over the sand.

3 thoughts on “Every time I paint, I learn something new…

  1. Hi Naomi, it’s Mrs. Dolittle! Does your 4-legged friend need a walk today! (monday Feb 13)?
    Call my cell if you don’t need me (250-213-7266)….
    Glad your cold has run it’s course!!!
    Bye for now,
    Cory

    Like

  2. Naomi dear, just wanted to let you know that you’ve saved me! As i’ve mentioned a while ago, I’ve jotted down your flesh tone tips. Haven’t been painting lately, so when I started again, I referred back to your tips, and boy, what a difference these tones make! Thanks for sharing, don’t stop!

    Like

    • Hi Elria, you are most welcome! I’m so glad I could help, if there is anything else i could help you with, don’t hesitate to ask :- )

      Like

Leave a Reply

