My favorite Oil painting Medium recipe…

Woke up with a head cold yesterday. Today I don’t feel to wonderful. My mood is touch and go. I want to work on my painting, but I can’t focus right now. I cannot create anything feeling like crap. So instead I’m going to ‘Oil Out’ a few paintings. One of them being ‘Amanda’s Tea Party’. When the over-all tone of your painting is uneven and some of the darks have sunk in, ‘Oiling out’ evens out the appearance of high and low spots on the surface of the canvas. The best way to resolve this is with cold pressed linseed oil. Obviously make sure the paint is dry to the touch. With a soft brush, apply a thin layer of linseed oil, then using a cheesecloth rag, wipe the linseed oil off immediately, leaving a very thin film. There have been some concerns about linseed oil yellowing ones painting. However, there is a phenomena that will reverse the yellowing ~ exposure to day light.

For painting medium I use:

4 parts Walnut oil

I Part Stand oil

2 Parts Gamsol Odourless Turpentine

Combine the ingredients and stir until dissolved. Don’t shake, you don’t want bubbles.

You don’t need much, just a few drops. It’s best to use a dropper and mx into your paint thoroughly with a palette knife. Using too much medium will compromise the paint film and weaken it. Use very little, just enough to improve flow.

This afternoon I have intentions of working on the Mayor, I’m pretty happy with my progress. I’ve managed to match his skin colour perfectly. I’ll paint his hand next and demonstrate how I do it and the colours I use. Next, the Mayor’s shirt. A white shirt with thin blue stripes. I’ve been considering how to tackle this for a while now. This is a challenge I enjoy taking on. If it were easy, it would bore me. I considered painting the whole shirt white and then add the stripe. However, I don’t think I want to do that. I want a more painterly feel. So I’ll finish the shirt as I go along. Hmmm, here goes….

Leave a Reply

