The most important lessons one can learn, are from ones mistakes…


Much has changed since my last post. I had planned on a one color painting and ended up painting in color. Thats life. Sometimes shit happens and one has to change plans to overcome the challenges. Bottom line. Be careful and take care when prepping your canvas. The challenges I experienced was a direct result of an uneven surface. My own fault.

None the less, I’m happy with where my painting is going. The shawl’s a bitch to paint, but other than that, everything is going smoothly. I can’t tell you how many layers of skin I’ve painted. Lets go with many lol!

Even though I decided to go with color, my palette is limited to very few. Raw umber, Transparent Red Oxide, Yellow Ochre, Viridian green, Permanent Alizarin and White. I painted the background with raw umber. I love the beautiful grey that raw umber and white produce. It’s a gorgeous neutral color that shows skin tone so beautifully.  I decided to paint as little color on the cedar hat as possible as I want the warm tones of the underpainting to show through.

The most important lessons one can learn, are from ones mistakes. We know what not to do for next time lol!

Leave a Reply

