I’m in Daaawg heaven! Oil painting demo… How to paint a Dog…

I was looking for an article I had written when I came across this demo I did a while ago and thought I would share it with you again. This time I have it step by step so you can follow the progress.

Here’s a photo of Montana, I love his beautiful smile! I used some artistic license to create a playful element and a pleasing composition.

I began with a 11″ x 14″ canvas I primed with 3 coats of Gesso and sanding lightly when completely dry. Not too smooth as you want to have some tooth for the paint to adhere to.

Montana On my easel

Next, I tinted the canvas with burnt umber thinned with oms, applying it with a brush.

Burnt Umber paletteTinting my canvas

Then smooth it off with a neatly folded rag. If you bunch up your rag, it will leave marks on your canvas.

Smoothing it out

Next I drew in Montana with a brush and Burnt Umber thinned with very little oms. Stay as dry as possible.

Drawing of Montana

Once drawn in, I begin filling in all the darks with a mix of Burnt umber and Ultramarine blue thinned with a little oms, still being careful not to over-saturate your paint with oms.

Adding darks

I mixed Ultramarine blue with a dash of transparent red oxide, plus white for the blue skies and for the clouds, I mixed some white with a grey I made with transparent red oxide and Ultramarine blue. For the lights I mixed white with transparent red oxide and a tiny dash of Ultramarine blue.

Montanas palette1

The colors I’m using for this painting are; Transparent red oxide, yellow ochre, Ultramarine blue, Burnt umber, Titanium white Alizarin and cadmium red.

Once I had laid in my darks, I filled the background with blue skies and clouds, placing Montana on the beach, his favorite place to be.

Blue skies

I painted in the yellowy brown colors above and below Montana’s eyes. I mixed Transparent red oxide with yellow ochre. To darken the mixture I added some burnt umber.

Montanas progress1

I then added the blue grey markings on his forehead and nose and blended the fur with the white color which is Titanium white with a dash of transparent red oxide and tiny dash of ultramarine blue and grey.

Montanas progress2

I then painted Montana’s eyes with Transparent red oxide, a dash of blue and burnt umber. Next, for his tongue, I mixed a dash of cadmium red, grey, alizarin and white with a teeny dash of yellow ochre and white. The grey I refer to is a mix of transparent red oxide and Ultramarine blue.

Montanas progress3

Next I painted in Montana’s teeth with some transparent red oxide, a dash of yellow ochre and white.

I premixed my greys. Actually I always premix all my colors, it’s much easier in the long run even though it takes quite a bit of time preparing my colors, it still saves me time and hassle in the end. For the browns in the fur I mixed together some transparent red oxide with yellow ochre and a dash of burnt umber.

Montanas progress4

I mixed some titanium white, a tiny bit of transparent red oxide and a tiny dash ultramarine blue and a tiny dash of yellow ochre for the white fur; to which I ad a dash of gray made up of burnt umber and ultramarine blue. It’s a little tricky working the dark and the light fur without greying the black. I used a clean brush with every stroke from black into the white fur so that I didn’t grey any of the black fur. I left little bits of the underpainting showing through and that warms it up from the inside out.

Hope you enjoyed the progress picks and how I develop a painting.

Montanacompleted

Get Your Free Portrait Painting Video series here!

Join us on The Oil Painter’s Studio Facebook Group!

Save

2 thoughts on “I’m in Daaawg heaven! Oil painting demo… How to paint a Dog…

  1. Hi Naomi, Thanks for reposting this really helpful step-by-step demo. It’s such a lovely painting and really captures Montana’s smile.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

